Baseball Bloggers Alliance Awards: 2012 NL Votes

  • By admin
  • 12 October, 2012
  • Comments Off on Baseball Bloggers Alliance Awards: 2012 NL Votes

As a member of the Baseball Bloggers Alliance (BBA), I get a vote for five annual awards.  It’s similar to the Baseball Writers Association, but our ballots are visible to the public. Keep in mind that since I cover the San Francisco Giants. My votes will only be for the National League. The runners up are my 2nd and 3rd selections.
Connie Mack Award (Manager of the Year, awarded October 15)

Davey Johnson of the Washington Nationals is my selection for the NL manager of the year award. Johnson found a way to leapfrog over the Braves and Phillies in the standings from 2011 to 2012. The Nationals finished 2011 with 80 wins (21.5 GB ), and finished 2012 with 98. That’s a 18 game difference, and not only did they win the NL East, but they also managed to grab the number 1 seed in the playoffs. My hat’s off to you Johnson, even though I’m not on board with your organizations Stephen Strasburg (shutdown) decision.

Nationals Record 98-64 (1st in NL East)

Runners up: Bruce Bochy of the San Francisco Giants, and Dusty Baker of the Cincinnati Reds.

Willie Mays Award (Rookie of the Year, awarded October 16)

Bryce Harper of the Washington Nationals is my selection for the rookie of the year award. Harper is 19 years old, and plays the game with a very impressive hustle. Harper brings a lot of energy day in and day out for the Nationals. He’s lived up to the hype and played some great ball with all of the media watching him through a magnifying glass. He’s the only rookie that had that kind of pressure from day one to perform.

G 139, AVG .270, HR 22, RBI 59, R 98, SB 18,

Runners up: Wade Miley of the Arizona Diamondbacks, and Todd Frazier of the Cincinnati Reds.

Goose Gossage Award (Top Reliever, awarded October 17)

Craig Kimbrel of the Atlanta Braves is my selection for the top reliever in the National League. Kimbrel is just flat out ridiculous. He has 116 K’s in 62.2 IP. That’s 16.7 K’s per 9 IP. His WHIP is 0.911. How can he not be the top NL reliever?

Runner up: Aroldis Chapman of the Cincinnati Reds, and Sergio Romo of the San Francisco Giants.

Walter Johnson Award (Cy Young, awarded October 18)

R.A. Dickey of the New York Mets gets my vote for the Cy Young award. His team only won 74 games this year, and 20 of them were his. The knuckleballer carved up 230 K’s in 233.2 IP. If you just look at his numbers and take the team out of the equation. He would be the Cy Young Award winner any way you slice it.

Runners up: Gio Gonzalez of the Washington Nationals, and Johnny Cueto of the Cincinnati Reds.

Stan Musial Award (MVP, awarded October 19)

Buster Posey of the San Francisco Giants is my pick for the NL MVP. Not only did Posey come back from his injury in 2011, but he also came back with authority! Posey is a skilled catcher behind the plate, and also is big producer with the bat. Posey won the batting title this year, and guided the Giants to win the NL West. Posey hit .336 with 24 homers, 103 RBI and scored 78 runs. He should be the NL MVP, hands down!

Runners up: Andrew McCutchen of the Pittsburgh Pirates, and David Wright of the New York Mets.

Don’t forget to go to the SF Giants Rumors Facebook page to share your thoughts on who you would have voted for.

~King of Cali (Steven)

Want an email alert when the is a new post? Click the “Contact Us” tab and request to be added to the email list. You can also follow on Twitter @SFGiants_Rumors.

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.