Jae-Gyun Hwang Voted 2017 Barney Nugent Award Winner

San Francisco Giants Release
Jae-gyun Hwang SF Giants
Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Infielder Jae-gyun Hwang was elected the 2017 Barney Nugent Award winner in a vote by his teammates, coaches and training staff earlier this morning (Saturday 3/25/2017).


The Barney Nugent Award, formerly known as the Harry K. Jordan Award, is named in honor of the Giants’ former athletic trainer who worked for the Club from 1993 to 2003. This award is given in recognition of the player in his first big league camp whose performance and dedication in Spring Training best exemplifies the San Francisco Giants spirit, much like Nugent did in his time with San Francisco.


Hwang, 29, has batted .324 (11-for-34) with one double, four home runs and 10 RBI in 19 games in his first season in a Giants uniform. He produced a career year for the Lotte Giants of the Korean Baseball Organization last year, hitting .335 with a career-high tying 27 home runs and a career-best 113 RBI in 127 games played. He became the first Korean born player to ever reach the 20-20 club in team history. Hwang, who is playing professionally in the United States for the first time owns a career .279 batting average, 115 home runs and 594 RBI in 1,184 games while playing with the Korean Baseball Organization.


Barney Nugent was a trainer for the San Francisco Giants from 1993 through 2003. Prior to his time as a Major League trainer, he spent 16 seasons working his way up through the minor leagues. Nugent earned a Master’s Degree in Physical Education with an Athletic Training Specialization from Indiana State University. He passed away on February 22, 2014 after an arduous eight month battle with cancer and is survived by his wife of 33 years, Denise. Nugent is remembered as a good friend and was a Giant through the very end of his life.


The following players have won the Barney Nugent Award:

1988    Joe Kmak                   2002    Felix Escalona

Francisco Melendez           2003    Jason Ellison

1989    James Steel                 2004    Brian Dallimore

1990    Eric Gunderson        2005    Scott Munter

1991    Mark Leonard               2006    Derin McMains

1992    John Patterson            2007    Tim Lincecum

1993    Greg Brummett           2008    Brian Bocock

1994    J.R. Phillips                 2009    Joe Martinez

1995    Joe Rosselli                  2010    Darren Ford

1996    Marvin Benard             2011    Brandon Belt

1997    Dante Powell              2012    Dan Otero

1998    Russ Ortiz                     2013    Brock Bond

1999    Damon Minor                   2014    Mark Minicozzi

2000   Ben Weber                    2015    Matt Duffy

2001    Pedro Feliz                      2016    Trevor Brown

2017    Jae-gyun Hwang

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,