The 2017 Opening Day roster includes:


                                                                                        Pitchers (12)

Ty Blach                                                        LHP

Madison Bumgarner                                 LHP

Matt Cain                                                     RHP

Johnny Cueto                                               RHP

Cory Gearrin                                                RHP

George Kontos                                            RHP

Derek Law                                                    RHP

Mark Melancon                                          RHP

Matt Moore                                                 LHP

Neil Ramirez                                                RHP

Jeff Samardzija                                            RHP

Hunter Strickland                                       RHP

                                                                                        Catchers (2)

Nick Hundley                                                C

Buster Posey                                               C

                                                                                        Infielders (6)

Brandon Belt                                               IF

Brandon Crawford                                     IF

Conor Gillaspie                                            IF

Aaron Hill                                                      IF

Eduardo Núñez                                           IF

Joe Panik                                                       IF

                                                                                        Outfielders (5)

Gorkys Hernández                                     OF

Chris Marrero                                             OF

Jarrett Parker                                              OF

Hunter Pence                                              OF

Denard Span                                                OF


  • C Trevor Brown was placed on the 10-day disabled list (retroactive to March 30) with a right ankle sprain.
  • LHP Will Smith was placed on the 60-day disabled list after having Tommy John surgery.
  • OF Mac Williamson was placed on the 10-day disabled list (retroactive to March 30) with a strained left quad.
  • RHP Ray Black and RHP Ian Gardeck have been designated for assignment to clear two 40-man roster spots.
  • LHP Steven Okert, LHP Josh Osich, IF Kelby Tomlinson, RHP Albert Suarez were optioned to triple-A Sacramento.
  • RHP Roberto Gomez, LHP Michael Roth, C Tim Federowicz, IF Jae-Gyun Hwang and OF Justin Ruggiano were all reassigned and will open the season at triple-A Sacramento.  

Comments are closed.